Personal

Ending August.

It’s the last day of August and it also marks the last day of being a Marketing Assistant. Of course, in a completely different perspective than you are thinking.

First of all, I didn’t resign and most especially, I wasn’t laid-off. I think I sorta kinda given a little itsy bitsy of… promotion. There I said it. And to tell you upfront, this is not a bragging period. This is my blog.

Anyway, just this week my boss talked to me said that we’re going to be having a bigger things to work on to because starting on Monday, he will be officially back in his family business of hotels. Okay, don’t do that to your eye brows and wonder. I’ll explain everything.

The thing is it’s kind of complicated. I got this job in a hotel firm then later on, I was passed on to a completely different environment—an exclusive high end fitness gym. And from my application of a marketing officer, I became an executive assistant and a marketing associate. Executive assistant because my boss is the CEO and the Director of the company. So, basically there is this big company and under it are lots and lots of small companies and I am part of one of those small ones. Get it? (If you don’t, please just leave a message and I’ll explain it in Tagalog. I think I’m losing all my English words now.lol)

So, since my boss is back in the hotel business, I won’t be part of that little, little company alone. I’ll be part of the big company itself and be still the executive assistant and now, a Marking associate not just of the gym anymore but all the properties of the company—All those little companies (But, they’re not little by the wa). That means: Hotels, Markets, Agriculture Industry, Schools, High end laundry, Energy supply company, etchetera. And to the side, my boss needs my help in the Engineering and Architecture department.

Yes, I do this a lot. I pressure myself! But to tell you, I didn’t even think it’s a promotion. I only think of it as bigger assignment, superior opportunity and heck of responsibilities. But then at one point, it hits me: Am I really promoted? I think I am in a way but I wasn’t sure. So, when my boss confirmed it yesterday… I just… Well, the truth is, I always tell my colleges I will never get promoted in any way because it’s basically it. How can an executive assistant be promoted anyway? So, I said this is it. My hype of my career. No moving and no growth. Then this came along and like a slap, it hits me—it’s possible to move, to progress. And I didn’t know they’ve see me as a potential because if the outmost truth is to be told, I feel like freaking lazy all the time.

At the start of June, I didn’t think my boyfriend and I will broke up. Which by the way I didn’t publicized in anyway (Facebook, twitter-just some hints, blog-a little dramatic post but vague). Only my closest friends knew about the break-up and we get back together just after three weeks anyway. At start of July, I thought this is it. I’m going to quit my job and transfer to this college institution but it failed me, too. Leaving me wondering where to go. And look, august came a little bit of a rush. I left my hotel locker and moved in to a company quarters a.k.a. the abandoned old motel and in the latter part, my cousin died. Now, at the start of September, I’ll move one step higher from my position now.

Thing is, we don’t know how our life can turn out to be. It’s not like a novel, with clues on the cover and synopsis at the back on how to kind of expect it. We are just a pile of paper with the story and we don’t know what will happen in the next sheet and on the next on the next and to the last. We don’t even know if each page is used with ink or it’s blank. An ending. Just like the novel only the author knows the story.

I’m not saying this because I’m so obsessed with books lately (which by the way I plan to review!), but it’s the truth. The only thing is we are not texts books or some lame novel. We are like those “Choose Your Own Adventure” books and whatever happens to us is because of our lame and great choices but still, there is an author behind it.

So, this end of August, Since life is something we will never fathom, I want to remember how Solomon said that everything is meaningless. This life, this work, this promotion even. And all he can commend is to enjoy this short life but also to think that there is a life after it. So, enjoy with wisdom.

Now, I will TRY to shrug off all the bad feelings, resentments and all those negative magnets. I want to love life, to enjoy life (but with wisdom).

So, this is how I will end my August. By ending every single pile of bad things and look up, hope for a better tomorrow. Literally. 😉

PS: Have you seen the new wordpress thing? It’s kind of cool, if you’ll ask me.

PPS: 80th post! YAY!

2 thoughts on “Ending August.

  1. “Thing is, we don’t know how our life can turn out to be. It’s not like a novel, with clues on the cover and synopsis at the back on how to kind of expect it. We are just a pile of paper with the story and we don’t know what will happen in the next sheet and on the next on the next and to the last. We don’t even know if each page is used with ink or it’s blank. An ending. Just like the novel only the author knows the story.”

    I so loved this, Yuks! Cheers to life! And btw, I’m on the same boat with you regarding the thing you said about enjoying life WITH WISDOM. I totally agree. I miss you. Congratulations and God bless you more. ☺

Leave a Reply

