Book Review

Is there really a fault in our stars? A book review.

“But it is the nature of stars to cross, and never was Shakespeare more wrong than when

he has Cassius note, ‘The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars / But in ourselves.” 
― John GreenThe Fault in Our Stars

For a reader, we classify books though our own preference: some book we liked because of the plot, others because of how it was written, some we loved because the author is our favorite, most because the characters made us fall for it. But there are other books that the very first time you saw it, you liked it already. It feels like you are connected somehow. I can’t explain the feeling but it was there. And that exact thing is what I felt when I first saw John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars at one of the most famous bookstores in my country.

If there was a love at first sight, this might be it except I fell in love with a book and an author I haven’t read any novels before.

And just like people-kind-of-love, the book did not disappointed me. It even made me fell in love with it with every page.

(I swear,  I sound so creepy right now. But for those who can understand me as a reader, please feel free to comment! Otherwise, I can conclude I’m really creepy! Haha.) Anyway, let’s get to the review

First things first: the Characters and plot. The plot of the story is really simple if you think about it. It’s about Hazel, a cancer survivor who is witty and have interesting mindset. Also, she have this crappy lungs that do not do its purpose–to be a pair of lungs! She is in a world of cancer wherein she is distant and so on. She met Agustus Waters, the cancer survivor who have prosthetic leg because of amputation and Hazel’s life was never the same. The rest, you have to read it. No more spoilers because I’m such a good girl like that. lol.

The definition of the character is strong–they know what they like, what they don’t. They have diverse beliefs and thinking. Hazel believes that people just die while Agustus believe that there is an afterlife and there should be a “legacy” people should leave behind. All the characters seems concrete and know what they want. Also, another interesting character is Peter Van Houten plus how the parents were great in being parents.

The setting of the story seems modern since there are emails, cellphone and such.

Though there is one thing I don’t like about the book–it made me cry!! It’s a combination of tragedy, comedy and love story all in one thing. After finishing it, I never felt so sad in my entire “readers life” like how I was affected by this story.

I am not a cancer patient but I know a few in my family who had and is having one. It breaks my heart knowing how difficult their situation is, how they try to fight but at the end still being defeated. How the sickness rob them happiness and life’s fullness.

5/5 Stars.

Leave a Reply

